Family Visas

Below are options for those living in the U.S. without legal status:


DACA (Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals): 

On June 15, 2012, the U.S. Immigration Service announced that certain people who came to the United States as children and meet several guidelines may request consideration of deferred action for a period of two years, subject to renewal. They are also eligible for work authorization.

You may request DACA if you:

1. Were under the age of 31 as of June 15, 2012;
2. Came to the United States before reaching your 16th birthday;
3. Have continuously resided in the United States since June 15, 2007, up to the present time;
4. Were physically present in the United States on June 15, 2012, and at the time of making your request for consideration of deferred action with USCIS;
5. Had no lawful status on June 15, 2012;
6. Are currently in school, have graduated or obtained a certificate of completion from high school, have obtained a general education development (GED) certificate, or are an honorably discharged veteran of the Coast Guard or Armed Forces of the United States; and
7. Have not been convicted of a felony, significant misdemeanor or three or more other misdemeanors, and do not otherwise pose a threat to national security or public safety.

Anyone requesting DACA must have been under the age of 31 as of June 15, 2012. You must also be at least 15 years or older to request DACA, unless you are currently in removal proceedings or have a final removal or voluntary departure order


DAPA (Deferred Action for Parent Accountability): 

On November 20, 2014, the U.S. Immigration Service announced the Deferred Action for Parental Accountability (DAPA) program. This program provides relief from deportation as well as work authorization to unauthorized parents of U.S. citizens or Lawful Permanent Residents (LPRs).

You may request DAPA if you:

1. Have a U.S. citizen or LPR son or daughter as of November 20, 2014;
2. Have continuously resided in the United States since before January 1, 2010;
3. Are physically present in the United States on November 20, 2014, and at the time of applying;
4. Had no lawful immigration status on November 20, 2014;
5. Are not an enforcement priority, which is defined to include individuals with a wide range of criminal convictions (including certain misdemeanors), those suspected of gang involvement and terrorism, recent unlawful entrants, and certain other immigration law violators who present no other factors that would render a grant of deferred action inappropriate; and
6. Pass a background check.

DAPA grants will last for three years.